Genealogy

Bondsman Henry Evans

In my last post, I told you about FamilySearch’s microfiche containing a record of Nancy Evans’ marriage to Elijah Gumbs Boon.  In it, two individuals were listed who I thought might help me in my search for the parents of Nancy Evans: witness Tom Hughes and bondsman Henry Evans.

Several online trees list William Evans and Sarah Hayes as the parents of Nancy Evans, but I have not found a conclusive link yet. One of the online genealogies I started with was another WordPress blog called Native American Roots that mentions William Evans and Sarah Hayes, and that William was the son of Major Evans (1733-1814), son of Charles Evans (1696-1760), son of Morris Evans the elder (1665-1739). A helpful person in the Evans DNA Project at Family Tree DNA pointed me to Deloris William’s well-known Evans of North Carolina genealogy page, which has an extensive section concerning Morris the elder.

However, I couldn’t reconcile this family being from the Orange/Granville/Wake counties area while William and Sarah were living in Northampton County.

northampton-and-wake-counties-nc-1811
Northampton County NC 1741 (Nancy Evans marries Elijah Gumbs Boon 1814) Granville County NC established 1746 Orange County NC established 1752 Wake County NC established 1771

There just doesn’t seem to be an obvious connection. So I searched for Henry Evans on Deloris’ page to see if maybe he was the connection other Nancy Evans/Elijah Gumbs Boon researchers were finding.  I did find a Henry Evans:

henry-evans-1810-wake-county-nc
Deloris Williams Evans of North Carolina genealogy page- Henry Evans 1810, Wake County North Carolina

I went to FamilySearch to find this Henry Evans on the 1810 census in Wake County only to find the 1810 and 1820 census for Wake County were lost.  I found another Henry Evans on the 1810 census for Northampton County, though, who I believe is most likely the Henry Evans bondsman on Nancy and Elijah Gumbs Boon’s marriage record and a different person than the Henry Evans in Wake County NC in 1810.

henry-evans-1810-northampton-nc-census

1 thought on “Bondsman Henry Evans”

What do you think?

