Genealogy

Nancy Evans and Elijah Gumbs Boon of What County, North Carolina?

In my last post, I described our recent mitochondrial DNA breakthrough and described some of the information I’ve found online, including the book History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri 1886 in which Harriet (Boon) Bills speaks of her parents, Nancy Evans and Elijah Gumbs Boon of Northampton County, NC.  There is no mention of Nancy’s or Elijah’s parents.

I ordered Nancy and Elijah’s record of marriage on October 29 hoping it might shed some light on their parents, but while I’m waiting, I’ve looked around online. Many online genealogies conclude that Nancy’s parents were William Evans and Sarah Hayes of Wake County, North Carolina although I haven’t seen the exact evidence that ties them all together.  I feel like I can’t establish that Nancy and Elijah are in Northampton County until I see the microfilm myself.  The book I mentioned earlier says that Elijah Gumbs Boon was born in Northampton County.  Nancy’s parents were supposed to be from Wake County, North Carolina.  I’m not putting them together just yet.  Is there some sort of land record I don’t know about?  A sale of land in Wake County? A purchase of land in Northampton County?  Are they close to each other? What are the histories of these two counties?

A quick Wikipedia search says Northampton County, NC was formed in 1741 from Bertie County, so it was definitely a county when Elijah Gumbs Boon was born in 1796 and when he married Nancy Evans in 1814.  Wikipedia also says Wake County was formed later, in 1771 from Cumberland, Johnston, and Orange Counties.  I don’t have any evidence yet that the majority of these researchers are wrong, but something doesn’t feel right.  It seems like a large jump from Wake County where William Evans died in 1823 and Northampton County where his alleged daughter married Elijah Gumbs Boon in 1814.  Plus, I’ve only seen the children of William Evans and Sarah Hayes of Wake County NC as 3 sons, Henderson, Daniel, and Enoch.

The counties also don’t border each other as you can see at this website, which corroborates the Wikipedia entries for the most part.  Yes, I could be wrong but something doesn’t add up for me yet.  I hope the microfilm from Family Search comes soon and can help me figure this out.

wake-and-northampton-counties-nc

 

 

What do you think?

