Genealogy

Native American DNA

I’ve mentioned my paternal grandparents on this blog before.  My grandmother on that side passed away a while back and I regret not asking her more about her life while she was alive although there was a good chance she might not have told me anything.  My grandfather is still alive and doing relatively well, so I decided to ask him if I could get a DNA sample to send to Family Tree DNA.  He agreed, but it was totally one of those “this is your only chance he won’t say yes again” kind of things.

His results came back early and revealed that he is Native American.  Pretty much just Native American.  I’m not sure if this is what he and my grandmother were hiding, but he hinted that he didn’t want to discuss the results.  I was pretty lucky to have obtained the sample.  All he’ll tell me is that he was born in Tlaxcala, Mexico.  I figured out on my own that he is using a fake name.  He confirmed this and said he dropped his Native American name a long time ago.

grandpa-my-origins
Native American My Origins results – Family Tree DNA
clovis-anzick
Clovis Anzick-1 came up as a cousin match for him, not sure what to think about the data set being included at FTDNA.

 

mdlp-gpa-j
MDLP World-22 Native American results at GEDmatch

Paternal grandfather’s DNA analysis using MDLP World-22 at GEDmatch. He is overwhelmingly Native American. Largest percentages:

Mesoamerican 46.03%
North Amerind 31.05%
South American Amerind 12.26%

mdlp-gpa-j-pops
Native American mixed mode population sharing results MDLP World-22 at GEDmatch

 

His mixed-mode population sharing results stood out to me because his best fit populations are a mix of North and Central/South American.  He has 162 Family Finder matches and I noticed 5 matches with what appears to be exclusively Ecuadorian ancestry and 4 with Guatemalan ancestry.  Two of the Guatemalan matches were adoptees, one was somewhere between a 2nd and 3rd cousin match.

And while I have your attention…  Click here

 

4 thoughts on “Native American DNA”

  1. Hi April, sending a list of my grand father and grandmothers children I hope this helps You can reach me at REDACTED and I am also on facebook

    1. Just to clarify, this post on Native American DNA and the person’s results discussed in this post are not blood-related to April Sauceda at Ancestry.com. I am Veronica, April’s daughter, and the person here is my grandfather on my father’s side.

What do you think?

