Genealogy

New DNA Project: Mothers of Missouri

I started a new mitochondrial DNA project at Family Tree DNA, Mothers of Missouri.  The only qualification necessary is that someone on your direct maternal line (this ancestor can only be a woman) started a family in Missouri at some point.  That’s it.  Boom.  Join me.  Open to men and women.

I submitted a new project proposal a while back.  The website said I would hear from FTDNA within 7 business days.  The self-doubter that I am, I thought maybe my project was so outlandish that they didn’t bother getting back to me.  I decided to go another route and hire a professional genealogist instead.  I was surprised to get an email on Wednesday September 30th, “My apologies for the delay in reviewing your project application, we have been a bit backlogged lately. We have approved your application for the Mothers of Missouri Project.”  !!!

This project is open to anyone (male and female) who can trace their maternal line to Missouri.

The goal of this project is to identify the maternal lineages of the people of Missouri past and present.  Participants are encouraged to share names, information, and pictures (if possible) of their Missouri maternal ancestors to aid our collaboration.  Posts to the group, photos, and comments are only available to members of this project.

Maternal line ancestry can be so difficult to research, particularly because of changing family names every generation.  Pairing knowledge of our ancestors’geographical locations along with genetic evidence gives us an edge in identifying families and clusters of related individuals.  With that in mind, I started this project to hopefully one day provide Missouri researchers a catalog of Missouri maternal lineages.

Join my project! Please share!
Join my project! Please share!
What do you think?

