Genealogy

Brummetts, All

I ran across this thread recently while researching William Brummett,

I have my own research notes on the origin of the BRUMIT (All Spellings) surname in a WordPerfect file that I will send willingly to all who care to email me privately off the List. Evidence accumulated to date seems to put this of Anglo–Saxon origin, from the West Riding of Yorkshire, England.

There was a John Brunnet in Berkley Hundred, Virginia Colony in 1619; a William Brummitt in Stafford County, Virginia Colony in 1703, and the William in Fairfax County, Virginia Colony in 1713. Records of a William and Jesse appear in the papers of George Washington Papers. It is my current opinion that these are the ancestors of the families that later emerged in Virginia, North and South Carolina, Tennessee and Kentucky. If we could only locate some family Bible records, wills, probate papers, etc., that could help us tie these all together.    -Joe Brumit

I emailed Joe Brumit at the address listed but it appears to be a defunct email address.

I find this interesting because William Brummet was supposed to have been born in Virginia around 1795 and, although I don’t know who his parents were, I decided to go to the library (in Phoenix, Arizona) and check out what our reference section had to offer.  I found the book “Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800” and it had two entries, one for Jno. Brumit 1746 and Jno. Brummit 1747.  Both entries are listed in Fairfax County.  I’m not sure who the two men are, or if they are different people but I do think a bunch of Brummitts showed up in Virginia and, uh, prospered.

In other news, I have given up researching Sarah Evans, William’s wife, on my own and have enlisted the help of a professional genealogist living in Missouri.  Wish her luck.

By the way, does anyone know how I can get my hands on the publication “Brummetts, All”?

William Brumet, his wife Sarah, and their children Susan, Henry, James, William, Elijah, John, and Thomas. Mary Ann Bromett (or Mary Ann
William Brumet, his wife Sarah, and their children Susan, Henry, James, William, Elijah, John, and Thomas. Mary Ann Bromett (or Mary Ann “Polly” Brumet, this family has multiple spellings) lives 18 households away with her husband James Taylor. Polly Ann Bromett is 19 years old at this time. Could there be a connection?
Virginia Wills Brumit 2
Jno. Brumit 1746 and Jno. Brummit 1747

Virginia Wills Brumit 1

What do you think?

