Uncategorized

Probate and Update(s)

How do you like the new look?  I felt the old blog was a little too busy.

I did that thing again in which I put off writing so now I have a billion little things to talk about so I don’t know where to start.

I received Joseph Evans’ probate when I was hoping to receive a will.  It wasn’t very helpful.

I received and sent back the Genes For Good spit kit!  That was exciting.

I have sent off for a copy of a deed in Livingston County, Missouri for William Brummett and his wife Sarah Evans.  I’m not really sure what I think this record will show me other than my desperation to snap up any and all documents relating to these families.

After staring at my Ancestry.com tree for what felt like hours I decided to go ahead and order the Family Group Sheet for the Brummetts because it is the index-only record that pops up showing Sarah Evans’ and William Brummett’s birth states. I figure since it matches their information on the 1850 census it was worth a try.  Maybe there will be some great hints, maybe it will be like casting Runes.  Good times.

I have a picture I received along with Sarah Jane Taylor’s other photos that I don’t know why I didn’t share.  Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega are not in this particular photo but I am sure the people are their children (first and second row) and some of their grandchildren (third row).  I am particularly drawn to Beatrice Ortega and the young woman standing on the right.  There is a reticence about her that reminds me of the photos of my 2nd great grandmother Ramona Ortega,  I can’t be sure who the young woman is.

AND FINALLY THE CRAZY-PERSON UPDATE

Update October 2016: This line is wrong.  See Sarah Evans Mitochondrial DNA Test I think I’m beginning to understand triangulation. Bear with me.  Grandma has a few DNA matches that I believe are related to Sarah Evans/the Evans family and one match that is a definite Sauer.  Playing around with the chromosome browser I realized that there is overlap between one of the matches that I believe is related to the Evans family (orange) and the Sauer match (blue). They also match each other which is very important.  That suggests they received the same segments from a common ancestor.  Who was that ancestor?  I don’t know, the ancestor could have been 6 generations ago or more.  For grandma that would have been Sarah Evan’s mother (who I believe is Mary L. Ann Sauer/Anna Maria Sauer) or beyond.

Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Joseph Evans probate
Beatrice Ortega, daughter of Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega with other unidentified Ortegas.  I think they are Sarah Jane's and Dionisio's other children (1st and 2nd rows) and some grandchildren (3rd row).
Beatrice Ortega, daughter of Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega with other unidentified Ortegas. I think they are Sarah Jane’s and Dionisio’s other children (1st and 2nd rows) and some grandchildren (3rd row).
2 thoughts on “Probate and Update(s)”

  1. Hi Veronica I hope all is well with you and yours. I am doing fine; much better now. Anyway, in the photo below, my mother, Carmen Ortega Abeyta, always told me that the lady sitting down in the middle was Sarah’s sister and the gent to her right (left in the photo) was this lady’s husband, or Sarah’s brother in-law. The person who wrote the names on the photo was my mother’s sister, Isabel Ortega Chavez. Wouldn’t it be fun to travel to Iola Kansas to see if we could find distant relatives? I love seeing this picture of Grandma Sarah, my mother looked a lot like her and Isabel, my Aunt, her sister also resembled Grandma Sarah quite a bit. I hope all is well with Bennie too, give him my regards. Take care. T. O. A. Taylor

What do you think?

