Uncategorized

Ideas from Genealogy Roadshow

I saw that Genealogy Roadshow inferred a familial relationship based on proximity of residence between two families. I am embarrassed to say I never thought of that.

So that’s exactly what I have done to connect William Brumet and Sarah Sally Evans to who I think is their daughter Mary Ann Brumet Taylor, hahaha.  I have made multiple shitty, rambling inquiries to rectify the situation and have been met with these responses:

From The State Historical Society of Missouri

Dear TTJBlog,

Thank you for your inquiry.

Unfortunately, the Society does not have many records for this early time period 1823-1829 in Chariton County.  Our earliest Chariton County newspaper dates to 1847.

Marriage Records of Chariton County, Missouri 1821-1852 compiled by Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, includes a reference to the marriage you cited on page 9:

William Brummitt to Sally Evans, 3rd Sunday in July 1827 by Hiram Craig

Missouri Just Married Chariton County Missouri 1821 to 1866 compiled by Carolyn M. Bartels includes the same information in its entry 37.

If you haven’t already done so, you may want to contact the Missouri State Archives which holds Chariton County records on microfilm:

http://www.sos.mo.gov/archives/resources/county/chariton.pdf

http://www.sos.mo.gov/archives/contact.asp

From The Chariton County Museum

At one time Chariton county included the area north of the Missouri up into Iowa.  Then it was divided into other counties.  Livingston county came into existence in 1836 I believe.  There is no further information on the William Brummet family after 1830, when they show up in the census for that year.  After that they are in Livingston county.  Sorry but I cannot find any record here after 1830.

I responded: “Would there be a way to find out what happened to his land in Chariton?  The patent is under William Brummit, issue date 30 September 1835 Document #5770 of the U.S. General Land Office, BLM.”

Most likely he sold the land before moving.  During the civil war the records room of the courthouse burned and land records before that time were lost.  In 1876 the land belonged to the Stewart family.  1876 is the earliest plat book we have so whom ever owned the land before that time is not known.

I finally emailed the Missouri State Archives, they basically said tl;dr try again, so I submitted a new, succinct request on January 14, 2015:

Type of record: Probate or Will

Name: William Brummitt [could be Bromet Brumit Brumet Brummit Brummet Brumett Brumitt Brummett even Brummette/Brummitte]

County: Livingston

Date: 1850-1855

I haven’t heard back from them yet.  I’ve also contacted the Livingston County Recorder because why the hell not?

If I can connect Mary Ann “Polly” Brumet to this Sarah “Sally” Evans then I would finally have a proper explanation for my mitochondrial DNA results.

 

Update: This line is wrong, please see Sarah Evans Mitochondrial DNA Test My grandmother has a rather interesting new autosomal DNA match, the only one who is not of our immediate family to have the Sauer last name in her family tree.  Her father’s last name is Sauer which gives me hope that I’m barking up the right tree.

 

 

What do you think?

