Genealogy

Our DNA Match to the Anzick Baby

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction
Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Last Tuesday I received an interesting email from Felix Chandrakumar:

This is regarding your DNA having a genetic match with an ancient Amerindian DNA …

I had emailed the authors of the scientific paper regarding an ancient DNA matching living people. I had also included the top 100 emails in the list in bcc who have significant DNA matching the ancient DNA, in hope of getting some help/answers in solving this interesting mystery.
Is there anyone receiving this email have their kit phased? If so, please let me know. This greatly helps to confirm IBD segments in the matches. If you are not sure about phasing, please let me know if there are any kits with (any parent) and child  tested for DNA and I can guide you how to do phasing in GEDMatch. Phasing helps to decide which segment comes from which parents and provides the ability to confirm the segment matches with the ancient DNA. You can know more about phasing from ISOGG wiki.”
So I sent him my phased file (with my dad) and his results are posted here: http://www.fc.id.au/2014/09/ancient-amerindian-dna-how-valid-are.html .
He has since replaced the Anzick-1 kit, now F999913, at GEDMatch that has more SNPs so I reran my phased kit and the results were consistent with Felix’s.
PhasedAnzickMatchWhat does this all mean?  I don’t know.  I was curious what would happen if I ran my dad’s kit alone compared to Anzick-1 and this is what I saw.
DADandAnzick  He has matching segments at chromosomes 1,4,6, and 8 which is awesome but then where did our phased matches on chromosomes 3 and 20 come from?  Does it discount the validity of our matches?  (Oh my goodness, haha duh! I just remembered to get a match with my phased kit I had to drop the threshold to 500/5 so that’s how chromosomes 3 and 20 come up. My dad’s kit matches with the standard 700/7 threshold. I re-ran his data again with 500/5 and sure enough there are chromosomes 3 & 20). I am far from an expert, but the comparison of our matches raise some red flags for me.  Also note the time to MRCA, 4.4 generations?  That’s crazy.
I very much want to believe we have shared ancestry and in a way I do, but I’m not sure what to make of the data.
Thanks to Armando for chatting with me about this subject.
What do you think?

