Genealogy

Dolores Romero Martinez April 18, 1927-August 1, 2014

My grandmother passed. We were very close.

Dolores Romero Martinez

There are many things that could be said about my grandma. She was interesting, strong, supportive, and many other adjectives. Despite this, it’s difficult to express the enormity of her as a person. She was beyond words.

She flipped through many facets of her personality regularly. Sometimes she was boisterous, attending live wrestling events and taking joy in heckling the wrestlers. At other times she was more reserved, observing members of her family to ensure that everyone was happy and thriving.

She will be missed for many reasons, a few of which involved Halloween. She was always very generous to the children who came to her door, having taken the time to pack sizeable treat bags with good candy for each child. No cheap candy! Every Halloween-eve was spent putting the final touches on her hand made decorations and lovingly packing those bags.

For us, that spirit of generosity and care for others is what stood out about her the most. She was a loving and supportive mother, grandmother, and great grandmother who worked hard to provide for her children. She always thought of the wellbeing of her family first.

She also had a fire in her that coloured everything she did. Every song she sang, every dance was flavoured with that intense light. It is in this spirit that I would like to share an excerpt from a well-known poem by Maya Angelou that describes grandma in ways we could not:

“Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need for my care.
’Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.”

1 thought on “Dolores Romero Martinez April 18, 1927-August 1, 2014”

What do you think?

