Genealogy

Genealogy Corrections and Updates

Hola readers!  It’s been a while since I’ve written to you.

Have you heard that Family Tree DNA is updating their Population Finder?  I’m so excited for this because my grandma has an account there and I didn’t have the heart to ask her for a spit-sample for 23andMe, hahaha.  She wouldn’t be able to produce that much saliva!

My cousin Ben Blea from New Mexico found my blog and gave me a ton of information; he’s so sweet.  :)  Shoutout to Ben Blea!  He corrected my assumption that Sarah Jane Taylor was born in Tula or Tooley’s Ferry Kansas as his grandfather Celestino Ortega had the love letters exchanged between my third great grandparents, Dionisio Ortega and Sarah.  The letters from Dionisio were mailed to Iola, Allen County, Kansas.  You can see her death certificate says she was born in Iola, I need to update my glasses, haha.  Unfortunately the letters were thrown out after Celestino’s death.  Such heartbreak knowing that the letters are gone, I’m sure you genealogists are familiar with that.

In addition to that bit of information, he provided actual pictures and clues.  Words can’t express how much appreciation and affection I have for Mr. Blea for reaching out to me and sharing his family pictures and documents.

Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega with their daughter Beatrice/Beatriz and two other people.

Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega with their daughter Beatrice/Beatriz and two other people.

There they are!  Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega
There they are! Sarah Jane Taylor and Dionisio Ortega.  Their marriage certificate states they were married in the Territory of New Mexico January 8, 1892 in Santa Fe.
2 thoughts on “Genealogy Corrections and Updates”

What do you think?

