Genealogy

County Connections

About a year ago I received Sarah Jane Taylor’s death certificate and being the lazy/inept  genealogist that I am, I haven’t done that much with it.  The information on it was, in my mind, lacking anyway as her mother is unknown and Sarah and her father are listed as being from “Tula, Kansas” even though the 1920 Census in Santa Fe lists that she was from Missouri.  In addition to this discrepancy, there is no Tula, Kansas.

But I did find this in the Kansas Historical Quarterly:

Tula Kansas

So, if the informant for Sarah’s death certificate was right, Sarah may have been from the Tooley’s Ferry area in Kansas which is in Wyandotte County.  I always got the impression that the information on the 1920 Census was reported by Sarah herself though, so I still want to consider Missouri.  Then I received a message at Ancestry.com from a cousin researching the same line.  She told me,

If this is the right family; I heard she was German and Don had native (Pueblo) blood and Don was a mule skinner on the trails and met Sara J because her father was the store owner. I been trying to find out a lot on her and him and I have family down in NM.  Supposedly Don ran the Santa Fe Trail to Kansas City, Missouri & Sara’s father was a store owner (what family says).

Kansas City is in Jackson County, Missouri and the two counties are right next to each other.

Wyandotte County, Kansas and Jackson County, Missouri.

That would explain not finding Sarah’s family of origin in New Mexico and why her haplogroup is V7 with our matches listed as Germany and the Netherlands.

Our mitochondrial ancestral origins matches inherited from Sarah.  Grandma is my United States match.  The other two are private.
Our mitochondrial ancestral origins matches inherited from Sarah. Grandma is my United States match. The other two are private.

These pieces of information are as of yet unconfirmed, but I am grateful that some parts of the story are becoming more refined.

Happy hunting, fellow genealogists!

*UPDATE*

I’ve found out that Sarah Jane Taylor was likely from Iola, Allen County, Kansas.  More info here.

1 thought on “County Connections”

  1. That would of been me :-) I sent you a e-mail and hopefully we can have a chat. Have you found any thing on Don? this is amazing and glad i found your blog!

What do you think?

