Educational, Genealogy

Dr. McDonald BGA Update

I didn’t send him my X chromosome data the first time around.  So I re-sent him my data and he kindly re-ran it for me.  He said:

The painting with the X is attached. I assume you got the rest, it does not change.

Note that top/bottom on the chromosomes does NOT imply mother/father …

one parent can have bars on both top and bottom.

Doug McDonald

Just a reminder of X chromosome inheritance. If you are male, you get an X chromosome from your mother (and you will pass this to you daughters, but not sons). If you are female you get your X from your mother and father (and you pass it to all of your children).
My chromosome painting including X.

Here is a video explaining X chromosome inheritance (Sorenson).

Here is a more detailed inheritance chart.

What do you think?

