Genealogy

The Garza Sauceda Men

Here is a picture of my grandfather Bernardo Garza Sauceda’s brothers.  They were from Tyler, Smith County, Texas.

Paulino Garza Sauceda in the baseball uniform, with brother Cruz Garza Sauceda.
Grandpa Berdardo Garza Sauceda
This is Paul’s obituary which does not mention time in the armed services, but the man in the first picture looks like this to me.
Not sure who these people are, but it’s the same side of the family.

I think there’s quite the resemblance between my grandfather’s brother Paulino Garza Sauceda and my mom.  Inheritance is fascinating.
For fun, my mom's Sauceda/Saucedo autosomal matches
For fun, my mom’s Sauceda/Saucedo autosomal matches
My uncle's Y-DNA match at 37 markers.  We think Sancedo may have been an alternate spelling.
My uncle’s Y-DNA match at 37 markers. We think Sancedo may have been an alternate spelling.
A few of my mom's autosomal Garza family matches.
A few of my mom’s autosomal Garza family matches.
A few of my mom's autosomal Cantu family matches.
A few of my mom’s autosomal Cantu family matches.
5 thoughts on “The Garza Sauceda Men”

  1. Hey I think your talking about me I guess im a repeat visitor lol
    I see your mom is April and she would be my aunt..
    Anyways I live in Phoenix and work at a high school
    Ive been trying very hard to find more information about my grandpa benny and his family
    as well as pictures since we dont really have many.

  2. The man in the baseball uniform was my uncle Paulino G arza Sauceda, the one in the sailor uniform was my uncle Cruz Garza Sauceda. The man with the baseball cap and glasses was my uncle Bernardo Garza Sauceda.

    1. Fixed it! Thank you Lolo! I would love to know more. Were they born in Tyler Texas? That’s what we were always told, but Martin and I found a record suggesting some of them may have been born in Paige, Texas. Please e-mail me at tellthejourneyblog@gmail.com. Thanks for your help!

    1. Hi Joe, thanks for commenting! Do you have any more information about your father’s father, Bernardo Sauceda Sr.? Martin, Lolo, and I have pieced a few things together, the latest info I found is his marriage to Francisca Garza in 1900, Zapata County Texas (https://tellthejourney.wordpress.com/2016/07/16/bernardo-sauceda-and-francisca-garza/). On the 1930 census, he said 1900 was the year he immigrated to the U.S. but I haven’t been able to find out where he was originally from.

      His death certificate from Burleson County Texas in 1935 just says he was born in Mexico about 1864 (https://tellthejourney.wordpress.com/2017/03/13/bernardo-sauceda-or-sanseda-or-salsado-senior/). Do you know what town he was from or any more information about him?

      If you don’t feel comfortable replying here you can email me at tellthejourneyblog@gmail.com. Thanks again for stopping by!

What do you think?

