Genealogy

Marriage Certificates… Updated

The marriage records I was waiting for came in from New Mexico yesterday. The nice ladies I corresponded with at the Santa Fe County Clerk’s Office were very helpful.

Manuel Romero and Domitila Gonzales’ marriage certificate.

I think this is the 4th alternate spelling of Domitila’s name I’ve encountered.  This paired with my lack of information about her mother Ramonsita Ortega make me nervous about having ordered that birth certificate.  I know New Mexico will keep the money even if they don’t find the certificate, but surely they would notify you of that, right?  I would expect Domitila’s birth certificate by the 10th of this month…

Manuel Romero and Domitila Gonzales June 9th 1924. Santa Fe, New Mexico.

The clerk’s office also managed to dig up a record of Ramonsita’s marriage to Francisco Gonzales.  I was hoping it would have her parents’ names on the record but it doesn’t.  I’ve called and emailed the Historic/ Artistic Patrimony, Archives & Museum Commission for the Preservation of Historic Churches in New Mexico about obtaining the actual marriage certificate as I was instructed to by the county recorder and it looks like they’ve just emailed me back:

Dear Ms. TTJ,

Records of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe (baptism, marriage, burial) ca.1678 to ca. 1955 were microfilmed in the 1950’s and are available on microfilm from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormon Church). These microfilm records are available from the Family History Centers of the Genealogical Society of Utah, which is a branch of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and you can access the microfilm records at any Family History Center in cities/towns throughout the United States. You can contact the local stake of the LDS/Mormon church in your area to find the address for the Family History Center in your area. The Office of Historic-Artistic Patrimony and Archives conducts a two hour record search at a rate of $20. If you wish to have our office conduct a search for the record in question, you must submit a letter in writing detailing the individual you want searched as well as the type of information in this case marriage along with the appropriate fee.

Haha, nope.  I knew I’d have to go to the Mormons.  The Phoenix Arizona Hispanic Family History Center is only open Tuesday and Wednesday from 6:30-8:30 though so yeah.  That’s kitchen time around here.

Francisco Gonzales and Ramonsita Ortega Record of Marriage May 27th 1901. Santa Fe, New Mexico

I found it interesting that I didn’t recognize any of the four witnesses and sponsors.  As far as I know we are not related to Trinidad Urioste, Cifriano Rodriguez, Juan C. Martinez, or Mauricia Dominguez.  I was hoping Ramonsita’s parents would be listed.

*Update*  I went to the Mesa Family Search Library today and they didn’t have the certificate on microfilm or a record of it either.  They were sorry they couldn’t help me but told me that the certificate probably wouldn’t have any more information on it than the record from the clerk does so I shouldn’t be missing much without it.  They were really nice and I would suggest a visit to anyone interested in genealogy.  The lady also suggested I call back the Catholic Church and ask about what the function of the sponsors were since that might give me some clues.  That’s a good point, do any of my Catholic readers know why there would have been sponsors for a marriage?

What do you think?

