Drama, In the Kitchen

Successful Roast, Soufflé Fail

Dinner night was crazy busy, so please excuse the messiness you see in the pictures.  I had a difficult time keeping up with everything (I suck at multitasking).  Even though things didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped, it was still fun!

The roast pork tenderloin turned out nicely, even though I later found out my digital thermometer is off and I accidentally overcooked it by 20 degrees.  It was juicy last night but I’m not so sure about today.  Either way it will make good sandwich meat and we do have a butt load (cask load?) of demi-glace for it.  And the demi-glace!  I had a difficult time thickening it, but it turned out ok in the end.  I also made a pear chutney but forgot to get a picture of it.

The heirloom tomatoes in champagne vinaigrette were really good.  For that you will need:

  • 3/4 extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup champagne (We used Moët et Chandon, from Napa Valley)
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Whisk together vigorously & serve.

The good
The bad. Is this considered animal testing? That is a workout dvd in the corner, not some lame ballet movie. Just so you know.
I won’t even say it. DH had already started in on the yellow ramekin (he’s sweet). I think the recipe should have had less baking powder and that’s what I’ll do next time. They were edible, the poached pear really saved it.
What do you think?

