Ecology, Educational, Environment, Explanations, Gardening, Green, In the Kitchen, Organic

Worst. Biologist. Ever.

Do you remember a few weeks back I posted pumpkin pictures from the garden?  Turns out they weren’t pumpkins.  Not sure exactly how it happened, but the plants I thought were squash might actually be pumpkins and the plants I thought were pumpkins somehow are cantaloupe.  

I did plant cantaloupe once upon a time but when they didn’t sprout I forgot about them.  I planted squash and pumpkin later.  Plant morphology for all of these are similar because they are part of the Cucurbitaceae family.  I made the rookie flora mistake of “identifying” my not-yet-blossoming plants by leaf characteristics (Don’t do this in the field unless you are an expert, especially if you plan on eating the plants) and not revising these decisions.  

I wondered why this...

 

… didn’t look like this.

 

Definitely cantaloupe

 

There is a considerable amount of bug damage.

 

But some of the plants are doing well. Pumpkin.

 

DH made this wine from muscat grapes. Delightfully sweet and spicy!

 

Raspberry Frozen Yogurt
What do you think?

