Ecology, Educational, Environment, Gardening, Global Change, Green, In the Kitchen, Organic

The Wheel in the Sky Keeps on Turnin’

Class starts tomorrow.  New (and last) semester, new job, and a new case of nerves.  Blackboard says the genetics recitation scheduled for Friday August 20th is cancelled.  Go ASU!  The first assignment for soil ecology is already posted and has me on edge.  Question 1:  

Carbon dioxide partial pressures in the soil atmosphere are usually much greater than in the general atmosphere due to organic matter decomposition and respiration by living plant roots (CO2 partial pressures: 0.00035atm in the atmosphere and up to 0.035 in the soil atmosphere).  What happens when CO2 dissolves in water? Write balanced chemical equations describing this process.  

More importantly, how long ago did I take organic chemistry?  Did I retain any of it?  Derive the exponential decay equation describing this brain rot process.  Any biologist worth her/his grain of salt can tell you the ocean is a carbon sink and when CO2 is dissolved in water you get carbonic acid.  This is why increased burning of fossil fuels leads to increases in ocean acidity.  So why do I start to sweat the moment anything quantitative appears?  

This past summer has been fun; DH and I spent a lot of time together and we had the opportunity to try a lot of new recipes.  I got to post daily.  But it’s time to be almost-adults again, we both have work and school.  His physics lab will run until 10 pm one night a week, so goodbye dinners those evenings.  It isn’t nearly as bad as some people have it (hell, some couples are in separate countries!) but it is enough for me to dislike it.  I know I’m being a big baby.  As we both work for schools in some capacity or another we will have the weekends which, again, is a lot more than other people have.  I don’t know when I became so selfish with my time.  

Anyhow, I will miss wasting time observing flowers and bees ecological processes in the garden all day.   

Flowers and bees (reminds me of that song "Boats and Hoes"). Hooray pollination!

 

What do you think?

